events photos programs
results trails about us
news links home

Soo Finnish Nordic Ski Club

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario's premier cross country ski club with programs, lessons, and races that cater to all ages and abilities; located in the beautiful Hiawatha Highlands.

The Soo Finnish Nordic Ski Club has a long history of community service with respect to cross-country skiing in Sault Ste. Marie. As the club’s name suggests, its roots stem directly from the many Finnish immigrants who settled in the Sault Ste. Marie area in the mid-1900s.

The early club members were members of the Finnish immigrant community, who had belonged to various clubs in their homeland and wanted to recreate a sense of community in their new home. The Canadian Finnish Club, as it was initially named, was founded in 1953.

In the early 1960s, the club name changed to Soo Finnish Club. The Soo Finnish Nordic Ski Club was incorporated in March, 1991.

Over the years, the club has hosted many major competitions including Canada Cup, World Junior selection races, North American Cup, Provincial Championships Ontario Cup races and interdivisional races. Highlights have included the Canadian Senior Championships in 1970 and 1978 and the Canadian Masters Championships in 1983 and 1987. All of these races would not have been possible without the work of many local volunteers.

The club’s volunteers are active in building and maintaining the 35-kilometer trail system at Hiawatha Highlands. The club continues to operate with the support of many parent volunteers who want to instill a love of skiing in their children and supports a competitive race team, a Special Olympics training program, as well as recreational skiing.

Contact Information


Soo Finnish Nordic Ski Club
P.O. Box 22062
44 Great Northern Road
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
P6B 6H4

FAX (705) 945-7577

Soo Finnish Nordic Ski Club - Lead Volunteers

Board of Directors Dee Patterson
Linda Hadley-Piscopo
Adriana Tomie
Bonnie Yurich





President Elect


Past President

Jennifer McFarling

VP Operations

Betty Vankerkhof

VP Programs

Amy  Wheeler-Reich
Joanna MacDougall




Lee Colpitts


Committee Chairs



Anita Beckett


Amy Wheeler-Reich
Erin Nixon

Special Events Coordinator(s)

Mary Kenna Banks

Rhona Dunlop

Ski Swap

Mark Crofts

Snow Champs Chomp

Adrianna Tomie

Trail Trot

Grahame Gordon

Time Trial Coordinator

Dave Baldwin

Race Secretary

Jim Mihell


Jim Steele

Web Master

Grahame Gordon

Trails Coordinator     

Doug Cuddy

Jackrabbit/Bunnyrabbit Coordinators

Mathew Towle (Snow Activities)
Diane Charon-Bishop (Coaches)
Tanya Caple (Registration)
Davey/Jennifer Taylor (BBQ)

Adventure and Track Attack  Coordinator

Greg Barrett

Biathlon Coordinator

Mike Hertz

Senior Biathlon Team Manager

Joanie McGuffin

Para Nordic Coordinator

Lynn Rosso

Race Team Manager

Tracy Gingras

Lead Coaches

Larry Tomie(Jr Team)
Erin Malinger (Sr Team)
Lawrence Foster (Sr Team)
John Santana (Racing Rabbits)
Colin Edwards (Sr Biathlon)
Scott McCron (Para Nordic)

Wax Technicians

Mike Buckner
Ray Gingras